MP Dreeshen Named New Chair of Post-Secondary Education Caucus

June 15, 2015

OTTAWA, ON – The Parliamentary Post-Secondary Caucus announced a new Chair in Ottawa this week.

The PSEC was founded in 2008 by Mr. Rod Bruinooge, MP Winnipeg South. Mr. Bruinooge was elected Chair in 2008 and has been honoured to lead the group for over six years.

As Mr. Bruinooge prepares for his last days on Parliament Hill this summer prior to his retirement from federal politics, he was pleased to elect Mr. Earl Dreeshen, MP for Red Deer, as the new Chair.

“Earl has been an active member of the Caucus since it began. He has always believed in the mandate of our Caucus,” said Bruinooge. “As a former math teacher, he has been a real advocate for post-secondary education here on Parliament Hill.”

Mr. Dreeshen commented, “It is a tremendous honour to have been elected Chair of the PSEC. Through the PSEC, numerous connections have been facilitated between Parliamentarians and Canada’s post-secondary stakeholders. I look forward to ensuring that the PSEC continues to serve our post-secondary community and that we build upon the hard work and leadership of Mr. Bruinooge.”

PSEC Members believe in the importance of a knowledge-based economy that fosters growth for our future. Students are the top priority, as they are the future of Canada. The PSEC builds relationships with, and advocates for, educational associations, and Universities and Colleges across Canada.

“I have personally seen how the PSEC has contributed to better understanding of the unique challenges faced by our Universities and Colleges.  I am proud of our Government's strong record of investment in new infrastructure for our Colleges and Universities and key investments in ground-breaking research,” said Mr. Harold Albrecht, MP for Kitchener-Conestoga and PSEC Member.